Board of Directors

The Friends of Accion Board of Directors is entirely volunteer. It is comprised of 9 individuals from a constituency of churches that provide support to Acción Ministries.  Directors serve terms of 3 years each with an option to serve more than one consecutive term.  The Board provides financial and managerial oversight for the organization and Accion’s Director.

Current Board of Directors

Rich Neidinger Rich Neidinger, President Rich is a member of First Presbyterian Church in Charlotte, NC. He helped found Friends of Accion, Inc., and was its first President 2003 – 2014; he returned to the board in 2017. He has been on many work team trips with Accion, dating back to 1990. Rich is an Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at Davidson College.
Rich Lyman, Treasurer Rich Lyman is a CPA and has done building mission trips to Mexico and New Orleans as well as working on several Habitat for Humanity homes.  His three children have also been on mission trips to Mexico.
Stephanie Guffin, Secretary Stephanie is a member of Covenant Presbyterian Church in Charlotte, NC, where she has led or participated in multiple work team trips with Accion over the years.  Stephanie is a Nurse practitioner.
Sherry Gaither, Director Sherry is a member of Hopewell Presbyterian Church in Huntersville, NC, participating in youth and adult work team trips and on the witness committee.  She has known Oscar R. Dorantes since he lived at Hopewell while in seminary in Charlotte.
christine canaga Christine Canaga, Director Christine is a member of Vienna Presbyterian Church in Vienna, VA and has participated in Acción Work Team trips for over a decade.
Elise Wallace, Director Elise Wallace is a former elementary school teacher.  She has been to Mexico on 3 mission trips.  She and her husband, Chris, have one son, Andrew, who is currently a Junior in high school.
Amy Hockett, Director
Amy Cathey, Director
Beth Webster, Director

Former Directors:

Lenwood Collins

Sally Davis

JD DuPuy

Stacy Lynch

Leigh Hutchinson

Martha Eubank

Elise Barksdale

John Baxter

Jamie Desai

Abby Gwaltney

Jason Gwaltney

Karen Harriss

Tim Kendrick

Rollie Johnson

Page Kizer

John Morgan

Rich Neidinger

Louise Ripple

Nancy Scheid

Ken Skodiak

Russell Thompson

Nik Van Nort

Caryn Overbey

Lewis (Lew) Thomas

David Wright